The best website for SARGAM notations of songs and tunes.  | Over 400 Songs/Tunes | Weekly addition of new notations | 

Raag Bhairavi


Following is the very basic tutorial on Raag Bhairavi.  This Raag uses all the 12 swars, hence, performers find it very suitable to do experiments.  For more information, you may like to explore more on the internet like Chandrakantha where more information on Raag Bhairavi is given.

Thaat : Bhairavi

Rass (Nature) : Virah, Milaap (Sad, Joy)

Jaati : Sampurna – Sampurna

Vikrit Swar : r g d n

Aroh (7 notes) : S r g M P d n S’ 

Avroh (7 notes) : S n d P M g r S’

Vaadi Swar : M (Shuddh Madhyam)

Samvaadi Swar : S (Shadaj)

Pakad : M g | S r S | d n S 

Time for playing : Morning.

Songs based on : Raag Bhairavi

DISCLAIMER: While Hindustani Classical Raags follow a set pattern of notes, the film songs based on Raags Bahiravi  may not necessarily follow every rule of this Raag.  Composers take liberty to experiment with the notes and may deviate from the set pattern just to enhance the melody of the song.

Same is the case while jotting down the notations of songs.  Hence, it is advised that you must not stop experimenting with the basic notations which are given in this website and must continue to improvise as per your convenience.

  1. Aaya hai mujhe phir yaad wo zalim
  2. Aye mere dil kahi aur chal
  3. Bhor bhaye panghat pe
  4. Chingari koi bhadke
  5. Dil aj shayar hai
  6. Dost dost n raha
  7. Hame tumse pyar kitna
  8. Ja re jare ud ja re panchhi
  9. Jeena yaha marna yaha
  10. Jiya jale jaan jale
  11. Kisi baat par mai kisi se khafa hu
  12. Ka karu sajni
  13. Laga chunri me daag
  14. Meethe bol bole
  15. Nache man more magan trikta dhigi dhigi
  16. Pyar hua ikrar hua hai 


Sargam of following Songs on Raag Bhairavi are available on this site:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

How to read SARGAM notations

  • CAPITAL LETTERS = Shuddh Swars (Pure Notes)
  • small letters = Komal Swars (Flat Notes)
  • A Note with # [hash] = Tivra Swar 
  • Letter/Alphabet ONLY = Medium Pitch/Normal blow on flute
  • Letter/Alphabet PRECEDED BY a ” . ” [full stop] or  a ” , ” [comma] = Low Pitch/Softer blow on flute
  • Letter/Alphabet FOLLOWED BY a ‘ [single quote] = High Pitch/harder blow on flute
  • Notes in { } = “murki” or “khatka” which have to be played very fast without any pause
  • A Note in ( ) = “kann swar” has to be just touched before moving on to the next note
  • A “~” between two Notes = “Meend”. That is, you have to glide from one note to another slowly to produce that wavy effect.
Useful Resources
Notations by category