The best website for SARGAM notations of songs and tunes.  | Over 400 Songs/Tunes | Weekly addition of new notations | 

Rahi tu ruk mat jana

Find more for :
rahi tu ruk mat jana

Singers: Hemanta Kumar
Lyricist: Shailendra (Shankardas Kesarilal)
Music : Kishore Kumar
Movie: Door Gagan Ki Chhaon Mein (1964)

Flute used for notations : G#

This is one of the rare songs composed by Kishore Kumar.  I wonder whether we have been deprived of our fortune to have more such gems from Kishore Kumar as Music Director.  Meaningful lyrics by Shankardas Kesarilal a.k.a. Shailendra, brilliant composition by Kishore Da and equally magical rendition by Hemant Kumar.  You just have to listen to this song to believe what I’m trying to say.

It wasn’t easy for me to figure out the notations of this song as the tune fluctuates from very low to high octaves.  But after a dozen of trials I finally managed to write down the notations as under :


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

How to read SARGAM notations

  • CAPITAL LETTERS = Shuddh Swars (Pure Notes)
  • small letters = Komal Swars (Flat Notes)
  • A Note with # [hash] = Tivra Swar 
  • Letter/Alphabet ONLY = Medium Pitch/Normal blow on flute
  • Letter/Alphabet PRECEDED BY a ” . ” [full stop] or  a ” , ” [comma] = Low Pitch/Softer blow on flute
  • Letter/Alphabet FOLLOWED BY a ‘ [single quote] = High Pitch/harder blow on flute
  • Notes in { } = “murki” or “khatka” which have to be played very fast without any pause
  • A Note in ( ) = “kann swar” has to be just touched before moving on to the next note
  • A “~” between two Notes = “Meend”. That is, you have to glide from one note to another slowly to produce that wavy effect.
Useful Resources
Notations by category